Pakistan beat Ireland by 5 wickets in historic Test – Daily Pakistan

DUBLIN – Eire finally succumbed to defeat of their inaugural Take a look at match in opposition to Pakistan on Tuesday.

Eire had misplaced centurion Kevin O’Brien to the primary ball he confronted on the ultimate day of their historic Take a look at. The unbeaten 118 O’Brien made on Monday raised hopes of the Irish drawing, and even successful, their contest in opposition to in Malahide, however he was unable so as to add to his in a single day rating when he unnecessarily went chasing a large supply from Mohammad Abbas and nicked by to slide.

O’Brien departed with Eire 141 forward with two second-innings wickets remaining and it didn’t take Pakistan lengthy to get these final two wickets. Lower than 40 minutes after play started, Eire, who had been made to follow-on, have been all out for 339. Abbas bowled each Boyd Rankin, who performed on when making an attempt to go away, after which Tyrone Kane, to provide him innings figures of 5 for 66 and a match haul of 9 for 110. That meant Pakistan have been left needing 160 to safe victory.

Eire wanted to make early inroads in the event that they have been pull off an unbelievable victory and that’s precisely what they acquired as Pakistan slumped to 14 for 3. Tim Murtagh made the primary breakthrough, with the fourth ball of the innings drawing Azhar Ali’s edge, and Haris Sohail additionally discovered a fielder off Boyd Rankin’s bowling. Murtagh then bowled Asad Shafiq to go away the house aspect ecstatic.

Imam-ul-Haq and Babar Azam stopped the rot and the duo appeared well-set when the vacationers have been 52 for 3 at lunch, needing 108 extra for victory. And regardless of Azam being run out after a mix-up between the batters earlier than Sarfraz Ahmed acquired trapped LBW, Imam-ul-Haq and Shadab Khan steered Pakistan residence to a five-wicket victory with none extra drama.

Enjoying XI

Pakistan: Imam-ul-Haq, Azhar Ali, Haris Sohail, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Sarfraz Ahmed (captain, wicketkeeper), Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Amir, Rahat Ali, Mohammad Abbas

Eire: William Porterfield (captain), Paul Stirling, Ed Joyce, Niall O’Brien (wicketkeeper), Andy Balbirnie, Gary Wilson, Kevin O’Brien, Stuart Thompson, Tyrone Kane, Boyd Rankin, Tim Murtagh

Pakistan will now face England at Lord’s on Might 24.

Source link

Add Comment

%d bloggers like this: